DISASTER

Honestly, I’m still reeling from this minor catastrophe. I say minor because in the grand scheme of life it’s pretty piddly, but still…it represents years of work on my part.

Oh boy.

Hard to believe, but my account on Amazon got erased. Yep. After years of many of our books selling well on Amazon, somehow Moonlight Mesa Associates got deleted from Amazon’s seller category. I spent the entire day trying to get someone who could actually help put my account back on active. No luck yet.

It’s amazing and unbelievable. Devastating and maddening. We sell a lot of books via Amazon. In point of case, they sent out $137 worth of books in January… Mostly my own mule book, “A Beginner’s Guide to Owning a Mule.” (I do have 99 copies of this book in storage, however, so if anyone wants one, speak up!)

It’s obvious that the temp help I hired while I was wrangling with taxes pushed the wrong button. I’m not even sure why or how she got on the site. She is, obviously, no longer assisting me.

Dealing with Amazon takes a lot of patience and good hearing since many of their employees struggle with English pronunciation. In all fairness, they speak English far better than I speak Hindu or Japanese or whatever. Still, it gets very frustrating despite their courtesy. So…now what? Has anybody here had a situation that’s similar? Can you give me some help, advice, or direction?

We are still in the transition mode here. Although we intend to “close” the business, we wanted to leave some of it open for buyers, and that would mean Amazon, Smashwords, Ingram, and of course the books I order to sell to vendors. Honestly, I’m still reeling from this minor catastrophe. I say minor because in the grand scheme of life it’s pretty piddly, but still…it represents years of work on my part.

My fear is that if the account is activated, will I have to upload all the books? I’m afraid to look to see how many original layouts I still have on my computer. I’ll face that tomorrow maybe. I’ll be out of town for 4 or 5 days starting Wednesday, so maybe while I’m gone I can come to terms with the loss…if there will be one. I guess if this happens I can turn my total attention to the Rights of Nature, GARN, Celdf, NDRC, and my beloved orcas! No questions it will be a better use of my time!

Image of a “certain country” fishing for whales. Sinful.

Hope your day was better than mine!

Author: Becky

Never too old to run away!

Leave a comment